Uyghur Scholars Working Group

In an effort to deal with the international crisis stemming from China’s industrial-scale suppression of its Uyghur minority, New Lines Institute established the Uyghur Scholars Working Group. The Working Group brings together experts to enhance situational awareness on the conditions that the 3 million ethnic Turkic Muslims face in their native region of Xinjiang. The group engages in research and analysis on how best the U.S. government and its allies and partners can deal with Beijing’s efforts to erase Uyghur identity and culture.

The Uyghur Scholars Working Group launched the Uyghur Series in 2020, an occasional series presenting research, analysis and policy recommendations on the events unfolding in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region (XUAR) in the People’s Republic of China.

Sign up here to receive our Uyghur-related content, including the latest research and analysis, and information on public events and webinars.

Founding members of the Uyghur Scholar Working Group include:

  • Adrian Zenz, Professor at the European School of Culture & Theology, Korntal, Germany.
  • Darren Byler, PhD from the University of Washington in 2018.
  • Rian Thum, Historian on Islam in China and India.
  • Gardner Bovingdon, Professor of Central Eurasian Studies at Indiana University.
  • Sean Roberts, Director of the International Development Studies Program at GWU.
  • Rachel Harris, Director of Research for the School of Arts at the University of London.
  • James Leibold, Associate Professor at La Trobe University.
  • Joanne Smith Finley,  Senior Lecturer in Chinese Studies at Newcastle University, U.K.
  • James A. Millward, Professor of Inter-societal History at Georgetown University.
  • Michael Clarke, internationally recognized expert on the Xinjiang Uyghur Region.

Other Projects